Clarity Inside the Box

shadows A friend of mine once said, in a moment of frustration, “I just want to be homeless. I want to walk away from everything and live on the street.” Then he added, “Sounds crazy, doesn’t it?” Sometimes I wonder if anyone can pursue money and material rewards and remain sane. I mean, of course, we all need food, shelter and a few other things to survive, yet, what is life when we give over to the mere pursuit of a lifestyle? This question has been on my mind for a long time, but it feels that it sits at the forefront of my thoughts as an almost constant companion these days. What is need? And how does it differ from want?

Today, in particular, I was feeling exactly as my friend confessed to feeling when he wanted to live in a box. I wanted to walk away from all the things I own, which require housing and money to pay for them to be kept, and instead, I wanted to simplify.

I felt this so strongly, perhaps because it is the Christmas season and shopping has brought on crowded streets, busy stores and a frantic rush that changes people from individuals to a mob. Among them, I sense a level of impatience, distress and lack of care. This isn’t my normal experience, walking into public space or a place of business, in the city that I now live. Yet, this is common enough throughout December.

Last night, I attended a high school band concert with my husband, and we listened to our daughters perform with their fellow music students. Unexpectedly, there was barely a misplaced woodwind squeak or fwamp from the brass. Rather, we enjoyed very beautiful music played well, all by young people passionately engaged in their performance. During the evening, various students emceed for the concert. They announced the compositions they were playing. They told jokes, thanked their three band teachers, and shared a story about what music means to them.  Music, they said, is stress relief, emotion, a place to belong, a home. So, I have been thinking about this, and feeling today that home is not a place. It is not a building, or a thing that we own. Home is an idea. And yet, even as an idea, how we confuse home for a house, a place, a thing, something we own.

As I’ve been working in my home office, doing a job that requires me to be focused on the marketing strategies and the words of business people telling their stories to promote their products and services, I felt the tedium of long work hours, the pressure of deadlines, and the disconnect that comes with a stack of work and isolation.

I’ve wondered why would I need these things, and is it necessary to make more things that would tell me why I need them? And, where am I going to keep all these papers now piling up in the corner of my room? Will I need to buy more things to store them?

It was an amazingly free thing to escape my computer and my desk and go out for a night. It was amazingly free to be faced with doing only one thing: to simply enjoy the young people, their joy and their music. Some how, I felt very much at home with this, at home in the moment.

Back at work today, I found myself casting glances around me, wondering how I could downsize my belongings, pare back and simplify. In essence, how can I make my life back into something balanced, something simple, and restore a sense of home to my everyday being?

It’s not crazy to want the freedom to live fully, without the imprisoning encumbrances of things. It’s not crazy; it’s clarity. An ironic kind of clarity, that conceiving to live in a box is thinking outside of one.

snail shell as home

Author: Michelle Hatzel

Editor/Writer/Math Student in Canada.

107 thoughts on “Clarity Inside the Box”

      1. Huh? Do you not see that you are represented in Freshly Pressed once again? In my reader at least, I click on Freshly pressed and there, several scrolls down, is To Live in a Box … do you not see it?

        Like

  1. nice article! I also start to believe that “things” we always struggle to reach for are actually nothing but “constraints” to us.

    Like

  2. True. And that satisfaction in minimalism is something that actually comes from within. I guess materialism is just a pursuit of happiness, that never ends. But once you have bigger meanings that make your life more fulfilled, which are above the pursuits of status and money, you can accommodate anywhere, as far as there is peace of mind within. 🙂

    Like

  3. I like this way of thinking. And it’s not just the things that physically surround us and constrict us, it’s the way we think about our lives, relieved by a night of music. Thanks for posting!

    Like

  4. Need and want….if you watch TV they tell you what you ‘need’ and for most of the rest you want what others have. To live fully in freedom for everyone and everything is an unattainable state…but to live in the remote wilderness of Northern Alaska in a 16×20 shack one can find what one needs to survive.

    Like

  5. What a lovely piece. I have been having similar thoughts. My twins turned 3 on 23rd December and while I understand friends and family wanting to mark that with gifts, we have ended up with so much ‘stuff’ that even the children can’t take it all in. Our house is bursting at the seams and I go through phases of just wanting to throw things out!

    Like

  6. From one who runs on the treadmill of life constantly wondering how to step off without losing everything I have worked for; I truly enjoyed the sentiment and like so many are preoccupied with these same thoughts! Thankyou

    Like

  7. I have been of the same mind for some time, although I did try and simplify my living space around this time last year and I felt quite miserable afterwards; i felt like I was just living in an inhospitable box. Maybe there is a happy medium out there. Good luck though!

    Like

  8. Oh, how all of your sentiments reeled through my head this holiday season…it’s a little frightening, actually, when you watch the crowds, the attitudes, the frenzy…glad to know others feel the same way as you. Thanks for such a “grounding” article 🙂

    Like

  9. Especially around holidays and the end of the year, I hear more people feel lonely or want to be left alone. Starting new stresses out people already. Facing the unknown future (or some known ones), scare us. Wanting to be free also means that it’s time to change and look things differently. It’s hard work, but it’s something that puts smiles on people too. Thanks for the great article and sharing with us.

    Like

  10. I walked the Camino de Santiago (Frances route), 800km in about five weeks; slowly, your backpack empties as you realise how little you need, and what a burden it all is it becomes; you keep exactly what you need, and no more …

    Like

  11. What a wonderful blog. I have experience this sort of streamling in the past year and a half. I was a teacher in the public school system, laid off in 2012.
    Even though i own my house outright, i cannot afford to live in it. I am living with a friend in a spare bedroom. Believe me it is possible to live with all the things you can comfortably fit in one 10×10 room. I bought 2 presents this year, for my friend who is putting me up. In some ways it has been good because i have focused more on my art. But not having control of your life is not good for me.
    Believe me when i wa sliving on my comfortable salary, i did not fathom all the emotions that go with my situation. No, I would not want to be homeless, and thank God for my friend. “You don’t know what you got till its gone.”

    Like

  12. Love this article. I’m a person who has recently actualized this ‘crazy’ idea to get up and leave everything my life was before, my new home is my van 🙂 it was so liberating to rid my life of all the things that cluttered it up,fake people and things. Thanks for taking the time to write this article.
    Cheers
    Flick

    Like

  13. I’m really trying to let go of a lot of unnecessary complications right now–at the same time, I am trying to make more time for reflection, mindfulness, and attention to life. In short, to live deliberately. Thanks for sharing these thoughts. It’s always good to find like minds along the road!

    Like

  14. Some people (me) thrust themselves into a simpler lifestyle. I’ve been divorced twice, once foolishly so, once wisely so. After a 23 year career, I now have had 16 jobs in 13 years. I have a 12 year-old, paid for car, I live in a 288 square foot apartment. But,… nouns are becoming verbs in the lexicon of my life- love, grace, authenticity, faith, and just being happy for no apparent reason. Thanks for affirming.

    Like

Please share your thoughts.